Why Do You Write?

freedigitalI have to confess that I have no idea how followers of a blog become followers. I have read many articles on how to attract your audience, but it seems to be a quite difficult concept for me to understand. I mean, when I like reading someone or when I can identify with a certain situation or a particular writer, I immediately click that “follow” button. But the truth is that now that I am on the opposite side too, the blogger’s side, I don’t have the slightest idea about all the prerequisites for having a popular blog. At the end of the day, I am wondering, should we really agonize over who and how many read us?..

Yes, of course I want to be heard and have discussions with people all over the world. The desire for communication and connection with each other is one of our natural characteristics as humans. But I think that, first of all, what all writers should care about is to stay connected with the reasons why they write.

If they write having as their only goal or ambition to gain popularity with all means, to make money or to add one more qualification to their CV,  it’s something that in the long-term will be exhausting for them. Everyone who writes for an audience, or even just for himself, should stay focused on why he does that and what writing means in his life.

For example, many people write because it’s a liberating process- with healing properties as well. Other people like to write because they have the opportunity to connect with people and communicate their messages to them. For others it’s a way to create a different life, where greater opportunities can appear literally from “nowhere”.

Whatever the reason of your writing might be, just keep it in mind every single time you write and you will never be disappointed, with or without followers.

Image courtesy of anakkml/FreeDigitalPhotos.Net

4 thoughts on “Why Do You Write?

    1. Yes, I understand what you mean… I like thinking of blogging in that way too. Reading your phrase “letting them know you’re here” reminded me of the phrase “we see ourselves through the eyes of others”… Maybe we want to let others know that we are here, because it’s a way to define ourselves better? …Just some thoughts…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

